All food businesses will have to declare lupin whenever it is present as an ingredient or as a component of food additives or processing aids.
They have 12 months from 25 May 2017 to meet the requirements.
If the food is not in a package or is not required to have a label, information must be displayed with the food or provided to the purchaser if requested.
The other allergens are peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, sesame seeds, fish, shellfish, soy and wheat.
Lupin is a legume which has the potential to be an allergen. Some people who are allergic to peanuts may also be allergic to it.
It may be found in products including baked goods (e.g. bread, pastries, pies), pasta or noodles, sauces, beverages and meat based products (e.g. burgers and sausages).
FSANZ said lupin has not been commonly used in Australian or New Zealand except for some imported foods, such as gluten free pasta products.
However, lupin flour or lupin bran/fibre is being used more widely in a variety of products due to high protein and fibre content and it is also gluten free, it added.
Since 2007 lupin has been recognized in Europe as an allergen requiring labelling.